Category Archives: Notes

Beth Bowman (M. Ed. ‘06)

Beth Bowman (M. Ed. ‘06) has been selected to serve as a mentor in the 2017 The Leaders of Today and Tomorrow (LOTT) Fellows Program. You can visit this website to learn more:

Lynne Macziewski (M.A. ‘17)

Lynne Macziewski (M.A. ‘17) will be the new Head of Middle School at the Girls Preparatory School in Chattanooga in August 2017. Macziewski is an experienced school leader and an award-winning teacher at Blake School in Hopkins. She is known for her relationship-building skills and ability to mentor and coach faculty.

Kelly Kleine (B.S. ‘13)

Kelly Kleine (B.S. ‘13) was promoted in June 2017 to college scouting coordinator of the Minnesota Vikings. Kleine is one of the 14 women who are currently working in football operations for teams across the league.

Carol Cheatham (M.A. ‘01, Ph.D. ‘04)

Carol Cheatham (M.A. ‘01, Ph.D. ‘04) was selected to join the Education Board at the American Health Council in June 2017. With over 17 years of experience in Psychology and Neuroscience, Cheatham will offer valuable insight and expertise on the effects of nutrition on brain development and function.

Corey Millen (B.S. ‘17)

Corey Millen (B.S. ‘17) accepted a new position in August 2017 as the Director of Hockey Operations at the US Air Force Academy. Millen is a Cloquet native and former NHL player. Millen was previously the volunteer assistant for the University of Minnesota Gophers, working for Coach Don Lucia.

Tina Jackson (B.S. ‘03, M.Ed. ‘04)

Tina Jackson (B.S. ‘03, M.Ed. ‘04) hosted her 12th annual “Surviving the Game” conference in St. Paul in July 2017. The conference is held to help end the cycle of poverty for kids in the Minneapolis community, where Jackson grew up. More than 200 students attended the conference, where they learn financial literacy, go to a Lynx game, and meet the players. Over the years, the conference, “Surviving the Game” has been able to give out seven scholarships to students.

Beth Magistad (M.A. ‘94, Ph.D. ‘00)

Beth Magistad (M.A. ‘94, Ph.D. ‘00) was recently welcomed as a new board member in July 2017 for the Park Bugle, a community nonprofit newspaper published by Park Press Inc. serving St. Paul neighborhoods of Como Park and St. Anthony Park.

Carla Nelson (M.Ed. ‘97)

Carla Nelson (M.Ed. ‘97) was recognized in July 2017 as the “Outstanding Legislator of The Year” by the Minnesota School Boards Association. Senator Nelson modernized and restructured the State’s failing teacher licensure system, to efficiently bring more qualified teachers into the classroom. Nelson has been instrumental in tackling complex educational and political challenges in Minnesota; fighting for high-quality education and closing the achievement gap.

John Kavanagh (B.S. ‘89)

John Kavanagh (B.S. ‘89) was promoted to managing director for public and regulatory affairs for Minnesota Public Radio in July 2017. Kavanagh will serve as the liaison for MPR’s networked stations on a state and local level as well as nationally in Washington D.C.

Patricia Kubow (M.A. ‘94, Ph.D. ‘96)

Patricia Kubow (M.A. ‘94, Ph.D. ‘96) along with her graduate student, Mina Min, received the 2017 Joyce Cain Award for Distinguished Research on People of African Descent from the Comparative and International Education Society. The award recognized their scholarly article “The Cultural Contours of Democracy: Indigenous Epistemologies informing South African Citizenship”, that was published in the journal Democracy & Education. 

James Lichtenberg (Ph.D. ‘74)

James Lichtenberg (Ph.D. ‘74) was recognized, this past August, by the American Psychological Association as the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Contributions of Applications of Psychology to Education Award.

Timothy O’Connell (M.Ed. ‘91)

Timothy O’Connell (M.Ed. ‘91) won a 2017 3M National Teaching Fellowship. This is considered Canada’s most prestigious prize for teaching excellence at the university level and only ten are given out nation-wide each year. O’Connell is a Professor of Recreation and Leisure Studies at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario.

Stanley Baker (M.A. ‘63)

Stanley Baker (M.A. ‘63) received the Ella Stephens Barrett Award for Excellence in Professional Leadership and Counseling in February 2017 from the North Carolina Counseling Association. The award is given to a faculty member who displays outstanding leadership, improvement, and enhancement of the counseling profession.

Darcia Narvaez (Ph.D. ‘93)

Darcia Narvaez (Ph.D. ‘93) a former professor at the University of Minnesota, and current professor of psychology at the University of Notre Dame wrote a book in 2014, titled, “Neurobiology and the Development of Human Morality: Evolution, Culture and Wisdom” which has won several awards. Most recently the 2017 Expanded Reason Award for Research, and an international award sponsored by the University Francisco de Vitoria (Madrid) and the Joseph Ratzinger/Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation.

Annalee Stewart (M.S.W. ‘58)

Annalee Stewart (M.S.W. ‘58) was a University of Minnesota social work professor who passed away on May 14, 2017. After earning her master’s degree, she continued to teach for the rest of her career at the university’s School of Social Work. During her time, she helped launch a LGBT alumni group at the U and landed the campus Breaking the Silence Award. Stewart died due to complications from Alzheimer’s disease at the age of 89.

Naip Tuna (Ph.D. ‘58)

Naip Tuna (Ph.D. ‘58) a cardiologist, professor, and general doctor at the University of Minnesota passed away at the age of 95, on June 23, 2017. After earning his Ph.D. at the university, Tuna went on to become an expert in electrocardiography, and later was honored with a Lifetime Education Award from the university’s cardiovascular division,  and publication in the New England Journal of Medicine.

Libby Siegel (M.A. ‘54)

Libby Siegel (M.A. ‘54) passed away at the age of 88 on June 19, 2017. Siegel began her career in elementary education and later received her master’s at the University of Minnesota, in curriculum and instruction. She co-founded M.Y. Options, a support and education group for middle-age women. Siegel ended her career, in her mid 80’s, working as a counselor in a private counselling practice she began.