Four Ed Psych graduates named 2018 CEHD Rising Alumni

Graduates Jennifer Hall-Lande, Meghan Hickey, Renáta Tichá, and Sara Witmer from the Department of Educational Psychology have been included in this year’s CEHD Rising Alumni. They were selected for their, “achieved early distinction in their careers, demonstrated emerging leadership, or exceptional volunteer service in their communities” according to CEHD’s Alumni Society, who chooses the recipients.

Jennifer Hall-Lande received her Ph.D. in educational and school psychology in 2011 and is currently a research associate and a faculty of the LEND (Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities) program here at the University of Minnesota. Jennifer’s specialties are in autism spectrum disorder as well as other neurodevelopmental disabilities.  Read more about Jennifer here.


Meghan Hickey received both her M.A. (2007) and Ph.D. (2010) in educational psychology and is currently the Special Education Supervisor for Robbinsdale Area Schools where she is a mentor and leader for special education teachers. Outside of her position she is a member of the Minnesota School Psychologists Association Board and supervises practicum students. Read more about Meghan here.


Renáta Tichá obtained her special education M.Ed. in 2002 and her Ph.D. in educational psychology in 2008. She is currently a researcher at the University of Minnesota Institute of Community Integration, serving as the Director of the Global Resource Center for Inclusive Education. Renáta’s expertise is in progress monitoring, inclusion education, as well as service delivery for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Read more about Renáta here.


Sara Witmer received both her M.A. (2002) and Ph.D. (2004) in educational psychology and is currently Associate Professor of School Psychology and Co-Director of School Psychology programs at Michigan State University. Sara is recognized for her work on how to use assessment and accommodation to enhance instructional decision making for students with disabilities and English language learners. Read more about Sara here.


Congratulations to all of the recipients. We are proud of your hard work and how you continue to represent the Department of Educational Psychology in all you do!